Winston-Salem Underage Drinking And Driving Defense Attorney

Zero Tolerance Means Exactly That For Drivers Under 21

North Carolina has a "zero tolerance" policy when it comes to alcohol use by drivers under 21. This means that, if you are under the legal drinking age, you can be convicted of driving while impaired (DWI) or a comparable offense if you are found to have any amount of alcohol at all in your system. Refusal to take a Breathalyzer is no solution, because you can still be convicted based on other evidence and you could lose your driver's license for a full year.

Know All The Consequences And Get The Representation You Need

If you are facing any level of underage drinking and driving charge — or if you are a parent whose child is in this serious situation — please do not assume that the outcome will be the same with or without a knowledgeable, experienced attorney on your side. John Combs is a skilled criminal defense lawyer who will look at every angle on your case and do everything possible to prevent a conviction or negotiate manageable consequences.

Mr. Combs recognizes the far-reaching impact any alcohol-related conviction or conviction for a drug offense can have on a young person's life. He provides personal attention to every client and communicates extremely well with students attending Wake Forest University, Winston-Salem State, Salem College and other institutions, as well as minors facing various criminal charges.

Critical considerations for you may include:

  • Underage DWI in North Carolina is a Level 2 misdemeanor with serious penalties under all circumstances, but adult sentencing will be applied if the accused tested over .08 percent BAC.
  • Aggravating factors may apply to your case — such as having passengers under age 18 in the vehicle at the time of the arrest.
  • Your ability to obtain a limited driving privilege may depend on your lawyer's knowledge and experience navigating the system.
  • Multiple underage DWI offenses can be punishable with a jail sentence along with all other applicable penalties

Call 800-419-4877 Now For A Proven Lawyer Who Will Prioritize Your Case

Approaching 20 years of experience in courts throughout the Triad region, attorney John Combs is committed to finding the best DWI defense strategy available for you. Contact us now for a free consultation focused on options for protecting your own or your child's future.